Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Mothering and Family Life
 4Real Forums : Mothering and Family Life
Subject Topic: Meek and Quiet Mothering Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Martha
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Jan 15 2009 at 11:55am | IP Logged Quote Martha

note: discussion originated from this thread: Duggar's New Book

okay.. hormonal just had a baby woman here...
take it easy on me please....
I've been dying to ask this question for 2 months (years?) now and am just now getting the courage.

on another board the question was raised on how to strive to be a woman with a "meek and quiet spirit".

now I really don't have anything against a woman with such a spirit. I've been quite fond of a few of them.

BUT this is the part that makes me squirm:
it presumes that a good christian woman/wife/mother is one with a meek and quiet spirit and thus we shoudl all strive to be like that.

is that true?
is that the only way I can be a good mother?
is it not even remotely posible that God created me to have a different spirit or that my children need a less quiet less meek mother to follow God's will?

I'm NOT saying I shouldn't strive to be a kinder person - of course we all should. But I don't associate kind with meek/quiet neccessarily.