Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Living Learning
 4Real Forums : Living Learning
Subject Topic: Homeschool Conventions...Do You Go? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
DeAnn M
Forum Pro
Forum Pro

Online Status: Offline
Posted: May 20 2008 at 8:55am | IP Logged Quote DeAnn M

This is my 3rd year of homeschooling. I still feel like I'm a newbie. I've been to a few conventions and I honestly don't know whether I leave inspired or overwhelmed...maybe both. I just know that I leave with a headache and a major dent in my bank account.

We have two conventions coming up in June...a Catholic one, and one State one with a more Evangelical focus--Lots of great vendors!

Do you guys go to the ones in your area?

Why do you go?

Do you try to go with a list of specifics that you want to purchase?

Do you go with friends and chalk it up as bonding time?

Any tips or suggestions?

Thanks,
DeAnn

P.S. I would love to go to the Family-Centered Life one but the date happens to correspond with my due date.   Bummer.

P.P.S. I went to the 4 Real conference last year and I truly did walk away inspired and NOT overwhelmed. If I haven't said so already, you ladies did an excellent job with that conference. I felt like a welcomed guest in a friendly pond as opposed to a small, lost fish in a big cold ocean--(a.k.a the Big conventions)
Back to Top View DeAnn M's Profile Search for other posts by DeAnn M

Tina
Forum Pro
Forum Pro

Posted: May 20 2008 at 9:17am | IP Logged Quote Tina