Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Living Learning
 4Real Forums : Living Learning
Subject Topic: English as a Second Language Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Lorraine
Forum Rookie
Forum Rookie

Online Status: Offline
Posted: July 15 2007 at 11:55pm | IP Logged Quote Lorraine

Hi all,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this question. If not, please move it to the appropriate forum. Thanks.

I'm a newbie here and even though my husband and I have just recently decided to homeschool because we firmly believe that God has called us to do so, we still have lots of anxieties. One of the biggest concerns is that English is not our first language. We both managed to get through high school here (in Canada BTW) without very much study in English literature. And since we studied engineering in university, you can imagine that language skills weren't on the top of the list of our syllabi. As it is, we speak with an accent, and we always check and re-check our emails or forum posts or any writing correspondences to make sure we haven't made glaring grammatical errors (at least those that we are aware of). We are afraid that our children (4.5yo DD and 2.5yo DS) will suffer in the long run because of this. Is anyone in a similar situation or knows of someone who is? Any suggestions? Should we hire a native English speaking tutor? One of the things we do now is to borrow audio books from the library for them to listen to and they do enjoy it.