Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Living Learning
 4Real Forums : Living Learning
Subject Topic: Ready to Give up on Homeschooling Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
time4tea
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Feb 19 2007 at 12:57pm | IP Logged Quote time4tea

Hello Everyone,

I have been homeschooling our dc for 5 years now, and feel like I have hit a brick wall, particularly with my almost 7 year old. I have been working with her for about 18 months now on lerning how to read, with only very minimal progress to show for it. We have tried many, many programs, from Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons, to Little Stories to Little Folks, to the Kolbe 1st Grade Lesson plans (using the CNR), to enrollment with Seton Special Services for Reading, but with really minimal to no progress. She seems to be unable to really retain the information that is being taught to her, so I end up teaching and re-teaching, and re-re-teaching. I understand that children learn through repetition, but when it goes on for over a year with virtually the same lessons, it begins get worrisome. In addition to this, I have a very challenging 8th grader who needs my constant, hovering presence or else he falls off course, and two other children who I am also currently schooling, one of them a budding Kindergartener. I am expecting a 5th baby in the Summer, and between housework, meals, schoolwork, activities (Church related and otherwise), as well as a parent who is seriously ill,