Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Our Lady's Loom, Larder, and Laundry
 4Real Forums : Our Lady's Loom, Larder, and Laundry
Subject Topic: need knitting help Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
MicheleQ
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Feb 01 2007 at 12:42am | IP Logged Quote MicheleQ

I'm working on a pair of these booties for Maria:

This is my first time knitting booties so I'm needing a little help understanding a few things. I am at a point where the directions say to "Break yarn (does this mean cut the yarn?) and then "With right side of work facing, rejoin yarn to the inside edge of the 10 stitches and pick up and knit 7 stitches along the side of the foot, knit across 9 stitches on the needle, pick up and knit 7 stitches along the other side of the foot, and finally knit across the remaining 10 stitches."

I'm just not sure I understand this (I can't "see" it in my head yet) and it seems I may have too many stitches although I was sure I had counted right up to this point.

Here's a picture of where I'm at:

Can someone (Mary G., Nissa?) help me understand what I'm supposed to do next?

Thanks!

Back to Top View MicheleQ's Profile Search for other posts by MicheleQ Visit MicheleQ's Homepage

lilac hill
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Feb 01 2007 at 6:25am | IP Logged Quote lilac hill

Disclaimer: I knit backwards, self taught, left hander. but patterns still work

Yes break/cut the yarn, leave enough of a tail to weave in.