Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Across Time and Place
 4Real Forums : Across Time and Place
Subject Topic: Christopher Columbus Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
MarieC
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Aug 29 2006 at 10:09am | IP Logged Quote MarieC

We're beginning our study of American History this year and Columbus is one of the first explorers we'll study. What are your favorite books about Christopher Columbus? The child I'm studying this with is 8/3rd grade but a really good reader. We're also looking for read alouds.

Thanks!

Out in the Orchard
Back to Top View MarieC's Profile Search for other posts by MarieC

Bookswithtea
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Aug 29 2006 at 7:24pm | IP Logged Quote Bookswithtea

Depends on what "side" of Columbus you want to present. The D'Aulaire book is colorful and presents the traditional view of Columbus as a hero.

We usually read that book and also a book called "Pedro's Journal." This book shows a more mixed side to Columbus' character...not all evil, but not all good, either. And then we talk about him, and about how times were different and we can't put our standards of conduct on peoples who lived under different standards of conduct, etc...

~Books

mothering ds'93 dd'97 dd'99 dd'02 ds'05 ds'07 and due 9/10
Back to Top View Bookswithtea's Profile Search for other posts by Bookswithtea

MarieC
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Aug 30 2006 at 6:06am | IP Logged Quote MarieC

Books,