Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Living Learning
 4Real Forums : Living Learning
Subject Topic: Getting Started Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
MHamberger
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Jan 31 2005 at 7:15am | IP Logged Quote MHamberger

My name is Megan Hamberger. I've never used a message board before so this is all new -- and I'm trying to keep up with the conversations! If some of these questions should be moved please do so...

Elizabeth Foss recommended that I use the vast knowledge of you very experienced home-schooling moms to get started. To begin, I am the mother of 2 boys. Robert (Robbie) is 4.5 years old and Michael is 2.5 years old. My husband, Scott, and I are expecting our third baby the first week of March.

I have several questions about how to get started in a very broad sense.

1/ In one of the books I read (and I've only read 3 so far)it recommended having a guiding philosophy for education (like living books) -- and having a definition of what a "well-educated" person meant. Has anyone found this helpful? And if so what do you believe a "well-educated" person is?

2/ I've read 3 books on homeschooling and have been given several others. What 3-5 books have you read that you found most helpful for getting started? (I already have Elizabeth's book!)

Many thanks!

Lissa
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Jan 31 2005 at 11:50am | IP Logged Quote Lissa

MHamberger wrote:
I've read 3 books on