Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Philosophy of Education
 4Real Forums : Philosophy of Education
Subject Topic: Classical criticism, please Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
meldogsun
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Online Status: Offline
Posted: April 18 2008 at 10:38pm | IP Logged Quote meldogsun

Hey, there! Newbie here...

I have been researching for a number of months about the type of homeschooling that we'd like to do for our almost 4yog and almost 2yob and have been personally drawn to an eclectic mix of Charlotte Mason, unit studies, with a touch of the Classical (Latin for the sake of a broad vocabulary and breaking down words). I also value the "better late than early" and "relaxed" approach as well.

However, I just went to a Classical Conversations seminar recently and they start with 4 year olds and though I'm drawn to the group gatherings and can't argue with the history of how this type of learning seems to work, I still feel unsettled about the idea of stuffing kids with tons of information when they don't totally understand it. The video on their website of a 10 year old rattling off all the Presidents' names and the history timeline wasn't impressive to me. She seemed robotic.