Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Tea and Conversation
 4Real Forums : Tea and Conversation
Subject Topic: Do you have paid work? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
guitarnan
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Online Status: Offline
Posted: March 28 2008 at 7:18pm | IP Logged Quote guitarnan

I am a freelance writer. It can be stressful, but not as much as my last at-home business, daycare, was. I was very happy running my daycare business but the hours were long and I had occasional issues with parents. Now I am only responsible for myself. The bad part is sacrificing family time to meet deadlines, but I've finally worked things out so I have two steady writing jobs - both for websites - and deadlines I can predict. I don't have to spend time writing query letters and researching writing gigs, which saves me tons of time.

And...my ds loves taking photos of airplanes (I use them, as I write about travel), so he now has quite a few photo credits to his name, which I hope will make his college applications stand out a bit!

I've tried the job thing every possible way (at home, outside the home, full time, part time, you name it!). It's something each family must assess at least once a year, I think - what worked for me long ago would be totally unacceptable now, as our children get older and need supervision, loving guidance, more transportation, etc.

folklaur
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: March 28 2008 at 7:39pm | IP Logged Quote folklaur

Cay Gibson wrote:
cactus mouse wrote: