Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Tea and Conversation
 4Real Forums : Tea and Conversation
Subject Topic: Catholic Cookbooks Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Alexandra
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Online Status: Offline
Posted: April 12 2007 at 7:35pm | IP Logged Quote Alexandra

I hope this is posted in the correct place. I'm a newbie here. I'm looking for some Catholic cookbooks with tasty recipes. I'm using a Mennonite cookbook, More With Less which I'm really enjoying. It's simple 1940's type cooking(from scratch)...wonderful bread recipes!

I saw three interesting Catholic cookbooks on Amazon:

A Continual Feast: A Cookbook to Celebrate the Joys of Family and Faith Throughout the Christian Year
by Evelyn Birge Vitz (Author)

Cooking With the Saints by Ernst Schuegraf

From a Monastery Kitchen by Victor D'Avila-Latourrette

I'm also looking for some good Catholic soup cookbooks.

Has anyone tried these? Any recommendations? TIA :)
Back to Top View Alexandra's Profile Search for other posts by Alexandra

aussieannie
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: April 12 2007 at 7:51pm | IP Logged Quote aussieannie

Hi Alexandra!

I would say JennGM is the resident expert in this area (and many other things) and Jenn has been my inpiration for jumping into liturgical cooking wholeheartedly - what beautiful life it is!

Here are some threads to look at:

Liturgical Cooking

More Liturgical Cooking

And More Liturgical Cooking

Catholic Soup Cookbook

Last, but not least: