Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Exploring God's Creation in Nature and Science
 4Real Forums : Exploring God's Creation in Nature and Science
Subject Topic: Help, please, regarding Chickens? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Bookswithtea
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: July 24 2008 at 3:06pm | IP Logged Quote Bookswithtea

I am getting ready to order chicks (meat birds) as both a food source and a school project. This is my first time. I told my dh that I feel so confused about it that it feels like I am ordering car parts!

So here's my question...why are McMurray Hatchery chicks so much more expensive than everyone else? Are they really better than others? I talked with 2 moms locally who have ordered happily from a local resource. I also asked them about the Broiler Booster that McMurray recommends and they both poo-pooed the whole thing and said that if they are taken care of properly that none of that is necessary.

Also, do I have to worry about roosters crowing if I get straight run or all males for this? I don't know that my neighbors would appreciate that. And while we are on the topic, what is the difference between males and females in terms of raising meat birds? Should I order one over the other?