Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Our Lady's Loom, Larder, and Laundry
 4Real Forums : Our Lady's Loom, Larder, and Laundry
Subject Topic: Heating with wood Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
amyable
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Aug 12 2008 at 10:12am | IP Logged Quote amyable

A question from a total novice - do you need a special kind of wood?

We don't have a woodstove but do have two fireplaces, one with a fan that is supposed to push the heat into the house. We never use them for heating the house because we can never get a good fire going without using those fake logs!

Back to Top View amyable's Profile Search for other posts by amyable

JodieLyn
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Posted: Aug 12 2008 at 11:05am | IP Logged Quote JodieLyn

not so much a special type as it needs to be seasoned and dry and you probably need to build up to the larger pieces more.. meaning that you use kindling to light smaller pieces of wood.. couple inch diameter.. and get a fire going good with those before you add larger pieces.

All men who have turned out worth anything have had the chief hand in their own education.
-Sir Walter Scott
Back to Top View JodieLyn's Profile Search for other posts by JodieLyn

Maddie
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Aug 12 2008 at 11:26am | IP Logged Quote Maddie

Chris,