Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Domestic Church
 4Real Forums : Domestic Church
Subject Topic: Advent Wreaths Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Cici
Forum Pro
Forum Pro

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Oct 17 2006 at 1:52pm | IP Logged Quote Cici

I know I know. EARLY! But Dawn started it!!

I bought the supplies today and I'm planning on making the wreath sometime mid-November (too much sooner and I'll have dd asking every other day if we can light it ).

But, I've never used one before (didn't grow up Catholic). Internet searches found: light the corresponding number of candles a night (one, two, three, four) during each week. That's it? Just light the candles?

When does your family light the candles? Do you say a prayer? Read from the Bible? Trying to get set up here to do a "proper" Advent.

Thanks

MichelleW
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Oct 17 2006 at 2:52pm | IP Logged Quote MichelleW

We light the candles on Sundays just before lunch and do a reading. I have the readings we do typed up in a WordPerfect document if you want them. We light, read, pray and eat.

Michelle
Back to Top View MichelleW's Profile Search for other posts by MichelleW

Mary G
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Posted: Oct 17 2006 at 2:57pm | IP Logged Quote Mary G