Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Nurturing the Years of Wonder
 4Real Forums : Nurturing the Years of Wonder
Subject Topic: Need Help Setting Up Activities Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
JennGM
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Sept 14 2013 at 1:16pm | IP Logged Quote JennGM

This is my first year actually teaching both boys...while it's always a learning environment, I really need to buckle down for my younger son.

I need some art and learning activities that aren't too much mom-prep. This son is very creative and artsy. He loves coloring, painting, cutting and pasting, drawing, dough. It doesn't take much for him to be drawn into this. He loves puzzles, and is on the verge of reading -- he only needs a few pieces of the puzzle to realize he already is doing basic reading. He has been forming his own letters for a while, but needs help in that area. I'm planning on introducing cursive for him this year.

And of course he loves books, but he's not reading fluently yet.

My problem is the oldest son, 10, is easily distracted. He needs some Mommy time alone, but without younger son around too much.

I've got tons of resources, and used to have great ideas, but I'm tired, worried about my heart issues, and just have little time and energy to research and prepare.

So, some quick ideas and refreshers? I know I'll need to set him up, and help him periodically. I don't mean to just abandon him, but when he's involved, he's very focused.