Oh, Dearest Mother, Sweetest Virgin of Altagracia, our Patroness. You are our Advocate and to you we recommend our needs. You are our Teacher and like disciples we come to learn from the example of your holy life. You are our Mother, and like children, we come to offer you all of the love of our hearts. Receive, dearest Mother, our offerings and listen attentively to our supplications. Amen.

Active Topics || Favorites || Member List || Search || About Us || Help || Register || Login
Living Learning
 4Real Forums : Living Learning
Subject Topic: Learning while "living" Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
joann10
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star

Online Status: Offline
Posted: Oct 06 2010 at 8:04pm | IP Logged Quote joann10

On Sunday I made our lesson plans for 2 kindergarteners, a 3rd grader and a 4/5 grader. I make very realistic plans because I have been homeschooling for 20 years and I know that there is never a day that goes completely as planned. But, my days are seeming to be getting a little out of control.

For instance, today I took 6 kids for flu shots at 9:45. We left the house at 9:00 to pick up the high schoolers at their school, had them back to school within an hour, stopping at Walmart for "flu-shot treats" and were home in time for lunch.....and then the day self-destructed and nothing more was accomplished except 2 spelling pretests, of which both kids missed half of their words.

I was too tired to get the kids moving after the morning and lunch and they aren't able to learn on their own.

Basically a morning activity derailed our whole day---and I have too many of my own sick days and dr days to afford to lose this much school time.

What do you all do to keep the learning (basic reading writing and arithmetic) progressing forward on days when things are a "little off"?   

Back to Top View joann10's Profile Search for other posts by joann10

Aagot
Forum All-Star
Forum All-Star